Ice Climbing for a Minute

I made it down to Ouray this weekend for a bit of the annual Ice Fest. When my oldest munchkin and I arrived Sunday morning for the speed competition the weather could not have been better, save a couple of upward degrees. It was overcast, calm, and only a little chilly. Perfect weather for ice climbing, and more importantly, perfect for pictures. We walked across the bridge over the canyon and all the way around the top of the climbing area taking a few photos and bidding good morning to some climbers on our way around.

We got to the parking lot at the far end and turned around just before the wind hit and the snow blew in. It was instant. I’m not even joking. Nothing, a few flurries, then Bam! Two-inch-an-hour blizzard! We left just before the competition started due to my lack of weather protection for my camera and also the munchkin getting quite unhappy about the violently blowing snow in her face.

Needless to say, I didn’t get terribly many pictures this year at Ice Fest. However, I got a few good shots, and as a bonus I got to try out my new monopod (It’s a Sunpak, just a $25 cheapy stick, but I absolutely love it!).

Categories: Events | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you have to say for yourself?

Blog at WordPress.com.

