(Fake) HDR Photos

For a while now I’ve been thinking about upgrading my photo editing software. Right now I use mostly just the Canon Photo Professional software that came with my camera. I also use ArcSoft PhotoImpression 2000 (yes, as in made in 2000…).

Now, you should know that my father-in-law is pretty much in love with anything that is open source software, so about a year ago he suggested that I start using Gimp for my heavier editing. I’m pretty much in love with anything that I don’t have to recode to work with my computer, so I was hesitant (you don’t have to recode anything, that’s just what I was thinking at the time). I tried it once and just couldn’t get the hang of the menus and of not having toolbars with buttons. So I gave up.

Fast forward 6 months or so and you will see me sitting with my laptop, using Gimp on a regular basis. I got patient. I got motivated. I got the hang of it. Gimp isn’t really hard to use, it just takes some getting used to and some exploring of what different options and settings are actually for. It has a TON of features and is quite workflow-friendly.

Anyway, the ACTUAL point of this post is to share the new feature that I found in it. I’ve discovered (read: Googled) how to make (fake) HDR photos on it. I still need to play around with some of the settings a bit to get everything exactly as I want it, but they’re pretty good just on their own.

You do need to download one plug-in for this method, and the instructions may seem daunting the first time you try, but I’ve done just a few and can mostly get through it without looking back at the steps. Here is the tutorial that I went by – located on the Gimpology site.

There is actually another plug-in that I just found today that supposedly does Actual HDR photos on Gimp… but we’ll just have to see about that. 🙂

Here are my first three images.

Original

Original

"HDR"

“HDR”

"HDR"

“HDR”

Original

Original

"HDR"

“HDR”

Original

Original

Categories: Effects, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you have to say for yourself?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

