Fun With Exposure

Yesterday I decided to switch from manual mode to AV mode on my camera. [what does that MEAN??? – I set the aperture and everything else, the camera picks the shutter speed for the correct exposure] I was shooting inside with flash, but evidently my camera still didn’t feel it had enough light to make a normal exposure, instead it decided to put the shutter speed right around a second. Well, this would be okay for still pictures from a tripod, but I was trying to photograph crawling baby… needless to say, no tripod. The picture I ended up with was super blurry but, amazingly, there was enough light from the flash to freeze said crawling baby in the image. I got what looked like a good, old fashioned double-exposure.

So of course I switched back to manual mode to try to recreate a better version of this effect- first with the baby, and then messing around taking pictures of myself. Here are a few of the results.

Ivy Blurry Long Exposure

Long Exposure 1

Long Exposure 2

Long Exposure 3

So that was the camera fun from yesterday. I will surely be needing to experiment with this again soon.

Have you ever played with exposure effects? If not (and you have a dSLR) you really should.

Categories: Effects, Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you have to say for yourself?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

